UConn ECE Professional Development Award Winners

By Jack Greenwood Jr.

This year UConn Early College Experience selected eight Professional Development Award winners, across five individual award categories, based on their nominations for outstanding instruction and administration of the ECE program. Each award recipient was invited to attend the annual formal dinner celebration in recognition of their achievement. With over 1,300 certified UConn ECE Instructors, it is difficult to choose a small selection of award winners from such a large pool of talented nominations. Although we take this time to celebrate the work of these specific individuals who have gone above and beyond the normal scope of what is expected as a UConn ECE Instructor and Administrator, it is important to recognize that our program’s growing success is deeply rooted in the overall combined efforts of all affiliated ECE instructors, staff, and faculty. It is truly a pleasure for ECE to award and recognize such dedicated educators who work tirelessly with students to achieve their individual academic goals.


We are pleased to announce our 2017-18 UConn ECE Professional Development Award Winners:


Thomas E. Recchio Faculty Coordinator Award for Academic Leadership
William Alpert, Economics
Site Representative Award for Excellence in Program Administration
Douglas Melody, Edwin O. Smith High School
Principal Award for Program Support and Advocacy
Louis DeLoreto, Edwin O. Smith High School
Instructor Award for Excellence in Course Instruction
David Bednarz, Marine Science, Ledyard High School
Linda Charpentier, Environmental Science & Biology, Xavier High School
Emily Kilbourn, English, Ridgefield High School
“Rookie of the Year” Award for Excellence in First-Year Course Instruction
Mark Waller, Political Science, The Master’s School
Michelle Amann-Wojenski, English, H.C. Wilcox Technical High School


Professional Development Award Winners